About eating disorders

There are four main eating disorders. These are Anorexia Nervosa (AN), Bulimia Nervosa (BN), Binge Eating Disorder (BED), and Other Specified Feeding and Eating Disorders (OSFED). 

All eating disorders feature characteristics of weight regulation, have issues around control, use food to regulate or manage difficult feelings, have specific physical impact, and cause harm.


  • AN is characterised by a specifically defined very low weight.
  • BN is characterised by binge eating and behaviours that are used to regulate the amounts of food that are eaten (can be low, regular, or overweight).
  • BED is characterised by binge eating and weight management issues.
  • OSFED includes eating disorders that don’t quite meet criteria for AN, BN or BED, but still have a major impact on health and functioning.

Eating disorders affect all sexes, ages, and races.

For further information, see our Worth Warrior User Guide

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons